Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Home / Top Stories / Monte-Carlo TV Fest Unveils Changes to Golden Nymph Awards

Monte-Carlo TV Fest Unveils Changes to Golden Nymph Awards


The Monte-Carlo Television Festival, which is celebrating its 60th anniversary next year, is introducing changes to its Golden Nymph Awards Competition.

Per the recent updates, long fiction programs, comedy TV series and drama TV series have been combined into a single fiction category, while the news category is now divided into three major sections—news coverage, news documentary and documentary film. The Prince Rainier III Special Prize has become a completely separate category. Further, the eligibility dates have been changed to allow unscreened programs or programs on their first broadcast in their home country to be included.

The submission period for the 60th Golden Nymph Awards opens today, Monday, November 4, and will remain open until February 28, 2020. The nominees will be announced in May 2020 ahead of the Golden Nymph Awards Ceremony on June 23, 2020.

Laurent Puons, CEO of the festival, said: “The official selection will now feature nine original and international programs (compared with 24 previously). The jury will reward the best of fiction across all formats. Members of the cast and crew for each program selected will be invited to Monte-Carlo to present their work through screenings, conferences and press activities, and stake their claim for a prestigious Golden Nymph.”

Puons added: “The reworking is part of an ongoing monitoring strategy that has been put in place in recent years, confirming the festival’s dominant position in Europe. Promoting international TV programs and constantly adapting to changes in the industry are part of the Monte-Carlo Television Festival’s DNA.”

About Chelsea Regan

Chelsea Regan is the associate editor of World Screen. She can be reached at [email protected]


Endemol Shine North America Names Executive Director of Licensing

Endemol Shine North America has named Scott Shillet as its new executive director of licensing.