Cast Unveiled for BBC One’s Sherwood


David Morrissey, Joanne Froggatt, Robert Glenister, Lesley Manville and Kevin Doyle are among those set to star in BBC One’s upcoming six-part drama series Sherwood.

Alun Armstrong, Adeel Akhtar, Claire Rushbrook, Lorraine Ashbourne, Phillip Jackson, Perry Fitzpatrick, Adam Hugill and Stephen Tompkinson also feature in the ensemble cast for James Graham’s new drama.

Sherwood is set in the Nottinghamshire mining village Graham grew up in and is in part inspired by real events, focusing on two killings that shatter a community still struggling with the divisions created by the the Miners’ Strike three decades before. It also touches on the deployment of so-called “spycops” around Britain and explores a community forced to reexamine events of the past.

Graham has written all six episodes and executive produces the drama from House Productions (Brexit—The Uncivil War, Trigonometry), with BBC Studios handling global distribution.