FX Sets Original Programming Slate Through 2021


FX has greenlit American Horror Stories, a spin-off of Ryan Murphy’s hit anthology series American Horror Story, adding to a slate of original programming that’s set through 2021.

American Horror Stories is a weekly anthology series that will feature a different horror story each episode. FX has also ordered American Horror Story through season 13.

With the order of American Horror Stories, as well as the recent renewals of the comedy series Dave, Breeders and What We Do in the Shadows, the FX original programming slate is set through 2021.

“We couldn’t be more excited about our roster of new and returning shows slated through next year,” said Eric Schrier, president of FX Entertainment. “It has been an extraordinary time for FX over these past three months with the launch of FX on Hulu, which has transformed our business. We believe the continued strength of our original series coupled with the growing awareness of FX on Hulu as our streaming platform will make the FX brand stronger and more relevant and accessible than ever before.”

New FX original series include A Teacher, a ten-episode, half-hour limited series starring Kata Mara and Nick Robinson; the drama series The Old Man, starring Jeff Bridges, John Lithgow and Amy Brenneman; and the drama Y: The Last Man, based on Brian K. Vaughn’s acclaimed comic book series and starring Diane Lane.

There’s also an untitled B.J. Novak half-hour anthology, which uses the boldest issues of our times as a jumping-off point to tell singular, character-driven stories about the world we live in today; the docuseries Hip Hop Untold, about the power brokers who operate from the shadows of hip hop; a feature-length documentary examining the changing landscape for women in stand-up comedy; and the docuseries A Wilderness of Error, about Army Surgeon Jeffrey MacDonald, who was sent to prison for killing his family.

The returning slate features American Crime Story, Archer, Atlanta, Better Things, Breeders, Cake, Dave, Fargo, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Pose, Mayans M.C. and Mr Inbetween. There will also be new seasons of Snowfall, The Weekly and What We Do in the Shadows.