Youth Media Alliance Names Awards of Excellence Jury Chair


The Youth Media Alliance (YMA) has confirmed that Lucie Léger will chair the jury for the 2022 Awards of Excellence, which will be held in Montréal on May 25.

Léger spent 37 years of her career at Télé-Québec, serving as the director of youth and family content from 2006 to 2018. She contributed to the direction and decision-making process of Télé-Québec’s youth programming department and was involved in many award-winning productions.

At the beginning of her career, she served as a researcher for Radio-Canada for several years. She then went on to launch Télé-Québec’s first Outaouais region programming and became programming director in Montréal in 1985. She was appointed coordinator of youth programming in 2004 and, finally, director of youth and family programs in 2006. In this role, she was responsible for external productions and youth program acquisitions, overseeing more than 40 percent of the programming schedule.

Léger served as chair of the Commission Jeunesse de la Communauté des télévisions francophones from 2013 to 2015. In 2012, she received the YMA’s Outstanding Achievement Award, and in 2018, she received Hommage pour l’ensemble d’une carrière by the Femmes du cinéma, de la télévision et des médias numériques.

Since 2018, Léger has been consulting, participating in the development of the Passe-Partout reboot and worked with the teams of the series L’école à la maison and Les Suppléants.

The nominees for the Awards of Excellence will be announced in early April.

The 2022 Awards of Excellence is sponsored by CBC/Radio-Canada, the Shaw Rocket Fund, the Canada Media Fund, Télé-Québec, Trio Orange, Attraction Images, PMT and APTN.