Seven Little Australians Gets ACTF Development Funding


MELBOURNE: Every Cloud Productions has begun development on a miniseries adaptation of the novel Seven Little Australians, which has received funding from the Australian Children’s Television Foundation (ACTF).

The four-part miniseries will retell Ethel Turner’s classic novel, following seven mischievous Australian children who rebel against the boundaries imposed upon them by their Anglophile father. The miniseries will capture 1880s Australia in a unique way and is intended for family viewing.

Screenwriter and playwright Elizabeth Coleman will lead the writing team. Fiona Eagger and Deb Cox from Every Cloud will serve as executive producers. Eagger and Cox will mentor Katherine Fry through the Screen Australia Enterprise People scheme, with Fry set to be creative producer on the series.

ACTF CEO Jenny Buckland stated, “The ACTF is very excited by the prospect of a modern telling of Seven Little Australians for a new generation of children and their families, and very pleased to support Fiona, Deb and Katherine with its development.”

Eagger added: “Ethel Turner’s Seven Little Australians is a shining star in the Australian literary firmament. We are thrilled to have the opportunity to bring this classic to life, a yarn for audiences young and old.”