43 Countries On Board Eurovision Song Contest 2017


GENEVA: The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has revealed that next year’s Eurovision Song Contest will feature participants from 43 territories, matching the record set in 2008 and 2011.

Romania (TVR) and Portugal (RTP) will return to the event after a year’s absence. Austria (ORF) and Denmark (DR) will be celebrating the 60th anniversary of their first-ever appearances in the contest. Australia (SBS), meanwhile, is making its third appearance in the Eurovision Song Contest.

Also participating are Albania (RTSH), Armenia (AMPTV), Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV), Belarus (BTRC), Belgium (RTBF), Bulgaria (BNT), Croatia (HRT), Cyprus (CYBC), Czech Republic (CT), Estonia (ERR), Finland (YLE), France (FTV), Germany (ARD/NDR), Georgia (GPB), Greece (ERT), Hungary (MTVA), Iceland (RUV), Ireland (RTE), Israel (IBA), Italy (RAI), Latvia (LTV), Lithuania (LRT), F. Y. R. Macedonia (MKRTV), Malta (PBS), Moldova (TRM), Montenegro (RTCG), the Netherlands (AVROTROS), Norway (NRK), Poland (TVP), Russia (Channel One), San Marino (RTV), Serbia (RTS), Slovenia (RTVSLO), Spain (TVE), Sweden (SVT), Switzerland (SRG/SSR), Ukraine (NTU) and the U.K. (BBC).

The 62nd Eurovision Song Contest, organized with Ukrainian member NTU, will be held in Kiev at the International Exhibition Center. The semi-finals will take place on May 9 and 11, with the Grand Final set for May 13.

Jon Ola Sand, EBU’s executive supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said: “We are delighted that 43 national broadcasters have signed up for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, equalling our record highest participation. We have not had this many countries in one contest since 2011 in Dusseldorf. The Eurovision Song Contest still unites audiences like no other show, reaching over 200 million people in 2016. We’re looking forward to three fantastic shows in Kyiv next May.”