Live at the Apollo Moving to BBC Two


LONDON: Next month, Live at the Apollo is set to premiere on its new home, BBC Two.

Moving from BBC One to BBC Two, the 11th season of the show will feature a lineup that includes Alan Carr, Dara O Briain, Noel Fielding, Romesh Ranganathan, Katherine Ryan and Russell Kane as guest hosts. Both established comics and aspiring stand-up comedians will have the chance to showcase their acts on the 6×30-minute show. A Christmas special in December will be hosted by comedienne and ventriloquist Nina Conti.

Kim Shillinglaw, the controller of BBC Two and BBC Four, said: “Live at the Apollo has a fantastic reputation for bringing viewers the very best acts on the comedy circuit and I’m looking forward to it being even naughtier and noisier in its new BBC Two 10 p.m. home.”

Ed Sleeman, the commissioning editor for BBC Entertainment, commented: “The incredible talent on show this series reaffirms that Live at the Apollo is still the place to be for the best stand-up comedy Britain has to offer, and with the show's move to BBC Two it's going to be edgier than ever before."