National Winners Revealed for Asian Academy Creative Awards


The Asian Academy Creative Awards (AAAs) have revealed the 270 national winners across 40 categories that will be competing in the Grand Awards and Gala Final on December 3 and 4.

Submissions to the AAAs are first judged locally in 16 countries across Asia before the regional winners are unveiled in what will be a virtual ceremony this year due to COVID-19.

The national winners for best drama are ABC’s Mystery Road (Australia/New Zealand), Viu TV’s Leap Day (Hong Kong), Amazon’s The Family Man (India), Viu’s Pretty Little Liars (Indonesia), Netflix’s Crash Landing on You (Korea), Viu’s The Bridge season two (Malaysia), Canal+ Myanmar’s Lake Pyar, ABS-CBN’s A Soldier’s Heart (the Philippines), Mediacorp’s Mind’s Eye (Singapore), Netflix’s The Victims’ Game (Taiwan) and GMMTV’s Who Are You (Thailand).

For best animated program, the winners include Cartoon Network’s Monster Beach for Australia/New Zealand, iQiyi’s Tuktuk Man for China, Cosmos-Maya’s Motu Patlu for India, Netflix’s A Whisker Away for Japan, Studio Gale’s Journey of Long for Korea, Animonsta Studios’ BoBoiBoy Movie 2 for Malaysia, ABS-CBN’s Jet and the Pet Rangers for the Philippines and One Animation’s Oddbods for Singapore.

Best preschool winners include ABC Australia’s Bluey, One Animation’s Oddbods and Green Gold’s Mighty Little Bheem: A Royal Festival of Colours.

In the best adaptation of an existing format category, winners are Hunan TV’s Dance Smash for China, Viu’s Pretty Little Liars for Indonesia, Viu’s The Bridge in Malaysia and Line TV’s Mother in Thailand.

The winners for best general entertainment, game or quiz include Nippon TV’s Mute it! for Japan and Couple or Not Thailand from Zense Entertainment for Thailand. Best non-scripted entertainment wins went to Gogglebox Australia, Man vs Wild with Bear Grylls and Prime Minister Modi on Discovery India, ABS-CBN’s Your Moment for the Philippines and Ed Stafford: First Man Out for Singapore, among others.

For best OTT original, winners include MX Player’s Queen in India, iWant’s The Tapes in the Philippines, HBO Go’s Workers in Taiwan and Viu’s My Bubble Tea in Thailand.

You can see the full list of national winners here.