Dentsu Secures 2014-16 Olympic Broadcast Rights in More Asian Territories


LAUSANNE: Dentsu has picked up the Olympic broadcast rights in 17 countries across Asia for the 2014 Games in Russia and the 2016 Games in Brazil, building on a deal secured earlier this month that covered Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

The new agreement with the International Olympic Committee (IOC) gives Dentsu the exclusive rights in all languages and all media platforms for Afghanistan; Brunei; Cambodia; Chinese Taipei; East Timor; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Iran; Laos; Malaysia; Mongolia; Myanmar; Papua New Guinea; Philippines; Singapore; Thailand and Vietnam. The pact covers the XXII Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia; the XXXI Olympiad in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil; and the second Summer Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, China.

Jacques Rogge, the president of the IOC, said: “An organization with a long-standing commitment to the Olympic Movement, Dentsu has a proven track record in broadcast rights sales in Asia; and the agreement ensures comprehensive coverage of the 2014 and 2016 Olympic Games, as well as the Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, across Asia.” 

“We are delighted to have secured a strong partner in Dentsu in order to negotiate broadcast arrangements for these editions of the Olympic Games and Youth Olympic Games in 17 important markets,” said IOC executive board member Richard Carrión. “We are confident that Olympic fans in these countries will be more than satisfied with the quality and quantity of the coverage provided.”

Kiyoshi Nakamura, Dentsu’s executive officer, commented: “We are honored to sign the agreement with the IOC for the broadcast and exhibition rights in 17 Asian territories for the Olympic Games in Sochi and Rio de Janeiro, and the 2014 Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, China. Together with the five Central Asian territories that have been awarded to Dentsu, we are committed to contributing to the development of the Olympic Movement in Asia by distributing media rights in a total of 22 Asian territories.”