2018 Daytime Emmy Nominees Unveiled


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) revealed the nominees for the 45th annual Daytime Emmy Awards, with CBS garnering 66 total nominations and Netflix and Amazon high on the list with 51 and 49, respectively.

The nominees for outstanding preschool children’s series are Dino Dana (Amazon), Julie’s Greenroom (Netflix), Sesame Street (HBO) and Sprout House (Universal Kids). In the category for preschool children’s animated series, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (Amazon), Nature Cat (PBS), Peg + Cat (PBS), The Stinky & Dirty Show (Amazon) and Tumble Leaf (Amazon) all received nods.

Outstanding children’s animated series up for the award are Lost in Oz (Amazon), SpongeBob SquarePants (Nickelodeon), The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show (Netflix), Trollhunters (Netflix) and Wild Kratts (PBS). In the outstanding children’s or family viewing category, Annedroids (Amazon), Free Rein (Netflix), Nat Geo Kids Block (Nat Geo Kids), Odd Squad (PBS) and Top Chef Junior (Universal Kids). Nominees for the outstanding special class animated program category are DuckTales: Woo-oo! (Disney XD), All Hail King Julien: Exiled (Netflix), Octonauts: Operation Deep Freeze (Disney Junior), Puss in Book: Trapped in an Epic Tale (Netflix) and A StoryBots Christmas (Netflix).

In the category for outstanding digital daytime drama series, the nominees are The Bay: The Series (Amazon), Eastsiders (Netflix), Ladies of the Lake (Amazon), Tainted Dreams (Amazon), Venice The Series (venicetheseries.com) and Zac & Mia (Verizon go90).

The soaps proved favorites, with General Hospital claiming 26 total nominations, Days of Our Lives and The Young and the Restless 25 and The Bold and the Beautiful 18. In the nominees for lead actress in a drama series are Eileen Davidson (The Young and the Restless, CBS), Nancy Lee Grahn (General Hospital, ABC), Marci Miller (Days of Our Lives, NBC), Maura West (General Hospital, ABC) and Laura Wright (General Hospital, ABC). For best lead actor in a drama, the nominees are Peter Bergman (The Young and the Restless, CBS), Michael Easton (General Hospital, ABC), John McCook (The Bold and the Beautiful, CBS), Billy Miller (General Hospital, ABC) and James Reynolds (Days of Our Lives, NBC).

The outstanding education or informational series awards category is honoring Giver (ION Television), Mind Field (YouTube Red), Sea Rescue (syndicated), The Henry Ford’s Innovation Nation (CBS), Xploration DIY Sci (syndicated) and Xploration Outer Space (syndicated). Culinary shows that received a nod are A Chef’s Life (PBS), Giada Entertains (Food Network), Lidia’s Kitchen (PBS), Mind of a Chef (Facebook Watch) and Valerie’s Home Cooking (Food Network).

In the outstanding game show space, Family Feud (syndicated), Jeopardy! (syndicated), Let’s Make a Deal (CBS), The Price is Right (CBS) and Who Wants to be a Millionaire (syndicated) are all up for awards. The outstanding legal/courtroom program prize could go to Couples Court with the Cutlers (syndicated), Divorce Court (FOX), Judge Judy (syndicated), Judge Mathis (syndicated), Justice with Judge Mablean (syndicated) and The People’s Court (syndicated).

Lifestyle shows being honored this year are Ask This Old House (PBS), Home & Family (Hallmark Channel), Naturally, Danny Seo (NBC), Renovation Realities: Ben and Ginger (DIY Network) and The Old House (PBS).

The ceremony will be hosted by Mario Lopez (Extra) and Sheryl Underwood (The Talk) and held at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium on Sunday, April 29, 2018. The Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium on Friday, April 27, 2018.

“The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is excited to be presenting the 45th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, in the historic Pasadena Civic Auditorium,” said Chuck Dages, chairman of NATAS. “With an outstanding roster of nominees and two wonderful hosts in Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood, we are looking forward to a great event honoring the best that Daytime television delivers every day to its devoted audience.”

“The record-breaking number of entries and the incredible level of talent and craft reflected in this year’s nominees gives us all ample reasons to celebrate,” said David Michaels, the senior VP and executive producer of the Daytime Emmy Awards. “With David Parks joining us as an executive producer on the show, Gregg Gelfand directing, Bruce Ryan doing the set and lighting design by Tom Kenny, along with a great production team, our 45th anniversary show will be a spectacular gala that both looks ahead and looks back over 45 glorious years and will honor everything we’ve come to expect and love about Daytime television!”