House of the Dragon Renewed at HBO


HBO has renewed House of the Dragon for a third season ahead of its second season premiere on June 16.

Season one of the series, based on George R. R. Martin’s Fire & Blood and set 200 years before the events of Game of Thrones, earned a nomination for outstanding drama series at the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards. Season two is set to debut on HBO and Max at 9 p.m. on June 16.

The star-studded cast includes Matt Smith, Emma D’Arcy, Olivia Cooke, Rhys Ifans, Steve Toussaint, Eve Best, Fabien Frankel, Matthew Needham, Sonoya Mizuno, Tom Glynn-Carney, Ewan Mitchell, Harry Collett, Bethany Antonia, Phoebe Campbell, Phia Saban and Jefferson Hall. Additional cast members are Abubakar Salim, Gayle Rankin, Freddie Fox, Simon Russell Beale, Clinton Liberty, Jamie Kenna, Kieran Bew, Tom Bennett, Tom Taylor and Vincent Regan.

Season two is executive produced by co-creator Martin, co-creator and showrunner Ryan Condal, Sara Hess, Alan Taylor, Melissa Bernstein, Kevin de la Noy, Loni Peristere and Vince Gerardis.

“George, Ryan and the rest of our incredible executive producers, cas, and crew, have reached new heights with the phenomenal second season of House of the Dragon,” said Francesca Orsi, executive VP of HBO programing and head of HBO drama series and films. “We are in awe of the dragon-sized effort the entire team has put into the creation of a spectacular season two, with a scope and scale that is only rivaled by its heart. We could not be more thrilled to continue the story of House Targaryen and watch this team burn bright again for season three.”