SERIESMAKERS Selects for Second Edition


SERIESMAKERS, led by Series Mania and supported by Beta Group, has selected ten projects for its second edition.

The three winning teams will be revealed on March 20 in Lille during the Series Mania Forum. Two teams will each be awarded a €50,000 ($54,300) Beta Development Award and will work closely with Beta’s content and co-production division to develop a pilot script and a full package.

An additional award of €20,000 ($21,700), courtesy of the Kirch Foundation in collaboration with HFF (University of Television and Film Munich), will be given to a third project.

Selected titles include Breach (Netherlands), Doctor’s Oath (Finland), Elephant (Hungary), Freedom Academy (France), George Blake (U.K./Netherlands), Play (Greece) and Sleeping Swans (Germany), as well as The Squatter (Philippines), The Willow Song (U.K.) and Willz (Israel).

The eligible director/producer or director/writer teams from all over the world have been closely mentored and guided by creatives while working on their series and developing a full pitch deck.

The four mentors of the second edition are Janine Jackowski (Toni Erdmann, Skylines), Ronit Weiss-Berkowitz (The Girl from Oslo, A Touch Away), Isabelle Lindberg Pechou (Trom, Last Light) and Felipe Braga (Sintonia, Lov3).

SERIESMAKERS is headed by Laurence Herszberg, general director of Series Mania, and Koby Gal Raday, chief content officer of Beta Group.